Saturday, August 27, 2011

Blood Song - Review


Bodyguard Celia Graves piles her trade in a world where vampires roam the night and movie stars openly practice witchcraft, where cops use memory enhancement spells on witnesses and street-corner psychics have real powers. And ordinary , Celia use her street smarts- and charmed weapons to protect the rich and famous.

Celia is guarding the prince of a small but politically vital nation while he tours Los Angele's least savory hot spots when she is attacked by a master vampire.

Expecting to die, Celia is shocked to wake strapped to a table in university lat. She has become an Abomination, neither fully mortal nor fully vampire. When she's accused of murder, the cops aren't sure if she should be locked up or just staked. And then there's the demon she glimpsed during the vampire attack...

Struggling to cope with her new powers and trying not to terrify everyone she meets with a flash of fangs, Celia reachers out for help from her once (and future?) lover, a powerful mage; his warrior-priest brother; a handsome werewolf who keeps his lupine nature hidden; and elderly clairvoyant; and the one cop she trusts.

Celia Graves has three days to save the world, her sanity, and her soul.

I picked this book up by the look of the cover, and what I read on the back cover. I thought it sounded new and different and very, very, interesting. Well at first glanced I thought I would end up loving it, but as you can see what I rated it I was, sad to say, slightly to disappointed. I didn't think that I wouldn't have loved the book, but I was taken by surprise. I didn't love it, but it was a good read.

Plot - ☆ ☆ ☆ The plot was really well thought out, but that is all. It's a good plot, but as I read through it I found myself having a hard time following it. At times I would just say to hell with it and throw the book down and not pick it up for awhile. Now don't go and make the decision and not try and read the book. Just because I didn't enjoy it as much as I wish I did, doesn't mean you won't enjoy it.

Writing - ☆ ☆ ☆ The writing was simple at best. I found myself reading paragraph after paragraph and I didn't feel that much challenged, not in the least. It was a little to simple for my taste and I found myself getting bored easily, and that is never a good thing for a reader of any genre of book.

Characters - ☆ ☆ ☆ The characters were the only thing that I really enjoyed of this book. They were interesting and I found myself wanting to learn more about the characters, then I wanted to read the book. I wanted to learn about them all, about their past, present, and future.

Now after finishing Blood Song I will most likely read the next book, Siren Song (Blood Singer, #2).

Overall I give this book ☆ ☆ ☆ - no more and no less!

Monday, July 18, 2011

Stray - Review


I look like an all-American grad student. But I am a werecat, a shape-shifter, and I live in two worlds. 




Despite reservations from my family and my Pride, I escaped the pressure to continue my species and carved out a normal life for myself. Until the night a Stray attacked. 
I'd been warned about Strays- werecats without a Pride, constantly on the lookout for someone like me attractive, female and fertile. I fought him off, but then learned two of my fellow tabbies had disappeared. 

This brush with danger was all my Pride needed to summon me back...for my own protection. Yeah, right. But I'm no meek kitty. I'll take on whatever- and whoever- I have to in order to find my friends. Watch out, Strays- 'cause I got claws, and I'm not afraid to use them... 

I heard a lot of good things about this book and decided to give it a go, and boy am I glad that I did! Faythe is a werecat, and a dangerous one at that. She's attacked on her college campus, but is able to fight off her attacker. Although, not before one of her fathers enforcers comes to take her home. Faythe goes willingly and soon finds out that her fellow tabbies are going missing and she does everything in her power to find her friends and bring them home. I really enjoyed this book and I can't wait to get the next book in the Shifters series, Rogue! 

Plot - ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ I was very happy with the plot. It was unique and I've never seen, or read anything like it before and that's always a good thing. 

Writing - ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ The writing was very well done, I was very happy with how it all strung out throughout the story. I didn't find myself feeling bored, or uninterested in the story. 

Characters - ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ I was very shocked at how much I enjoyed these characters. I didn't think I would have enjoyed them this much. They were unique but they had some flaws that every person has so it made them seem realistic and that's alway a good thing! 

Katherine 'Faythe' Sanders - Faythe is someone who doesn't take crap from anyone, and is out to show her whole Pride that she can make it on her own, that she can beat anything and anyone that gets in her way. Although, after getting attacked on campus Faythe is forced back to the one places that she cared never to see again: home. When she arrives home she learns that two of her fellow single tabbies are missing and it is up to Faythe and the rest of her Pride to find them, and put whoever their kidnappers are, to justice. Good old Pride style. 

Marc Ramos - Marc is the right hand man to alpha and Faythe's father, Greg Sanders. Five years before the plan was to marry Faythe and live a long happy life with lots of babies, but its not five years ago, things have changed and there are things that need to be done in the here and now. Like find the kidnapped tabbies and bring them home before something terrible happens to them. 

Stray - Nothing is known about the stray(s) that have moved into their territory, but Faythe and her whole Pride will not stop until they find the kidnapped tabbies and make their kidnappers suffer just as they have. 

Overall I give this book ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ no more and no less!

Friday, July 1, 2011

Demons Are A Ghoul's Best Friend - Review


Every school has its bullies, but Northelm Boarding School near Lake Placid, New York, houses a real whopper: a lean, mean, and deadly demonic ghost named Hatchet Jack. M.J.'s good friend Karen has asked her- along with partners Gilley and handsome Dr. Steven Sable- to send Hatchet Jack back to the portal he came from.

With renovations at the school starting in a week, there isn't much time for ghost hunting. Plus M.J. has to deal with an uncooperative dean, Gilley being paranormally preyed upon, and the tempting, Dr. Delicious distracting her. But Hatchet Jack is M.J.'s biggest threat, and with a demonic disturbance of this magnitude she must show no mercy and see to it that Hatchet Jack gets detention for eternity- in hell.

M.J. and her crew are back and ready to do what needs to be done, but not without there beginning a few bumps here and there. M.J. is hired by her friend Karen to go to the Northelm Boarding School to bust the schools dangerous threat of a hatchet wielding ghost. Will this be an easy bust, or M.J.'s hardest yet...? I picked this book expecting a lot and boy did it deliver! I couldn't put it down I was so absorbed in the story and what was taking place in its pages. I can't wait to get my hands on the next book in the Ghost Hunter Mystery seres, Ghouls Just Haunt To Have Fun!

Plot - ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ I loved the plot and I couldn't had it turn out any other way. Now your probably wondering 'Why did she like the plot?' and 'What made her like it so much?' Well I can only tell you that it kept me on the edge of my seat. I didn't know where it was going, but I was dying to find out the mystery behind it all!

Writing - ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ The writing didn't really change from the first book, and I'm glad it didn't! It wouldn't have been a Ghost Hunter Mystery book if anything, and I mean anything, was changed.

Characters - ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ I was happy to see M.J. and her crew back, and ready to crack another mystery. You get to know the characters more and more and see what transpires between them!

Mary-Jane 'M.J.' Holliday - M.J.'s back and ready to kicked some demonic ghost butt! She hates change and would love to see everything stay the same, but as time goes on things change and she has no choice but to flow with it. M.J. also sometimes forgets that she might have an iron heart, but others might not and they can't do all the darning things she does.

Gilley 'Gil' Gillespie - Gilley is back and ready to lend a helping hand to M.J. when she needs it, only if that involves him staying in the van and not in the danger of getting bullied by some ghosts! Though he seems a scary cat at times he's a good friend and M.J. wouldn't change that for the world.

Dr. Steven Sable - Steven is the newest member in the Ghost Busting team and M.J.'s love interest, even though she denies it to him and herself, it's still there sitting in the dark waiting to come out in full bloom. Steven knows nothing about the Ghost world, but he comes baring money and lots of it!

Karen 'Teeko' O'Neal - Karen has hired M.J. to go to Northelm Boarding School to solve there little ghost problem. That ghost problem having a name of Hatchet Jack!

Hatchet Jack - Is a mean son of a bitch who loves to chase people around with a hatchet. No one knows who he is, or how he's come to haunt Northelm, but M.J. means to put a stop to it once and for all!

Overall I give this book ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ - no more and no less!

Sunday, June 5, 2011

What's a Ghoul to do? - Review


M.J. Holliday has two rules. One, she and her partner, Gilley Gillespie, work alone; and two, she doesn't date clients. But when handsome Dr. Steven Sable needs her help, the specter-spotting sleuth is ready to break both of her rules. 




It seems the hot doc's grandfather jumped from the roof of the family lodge in an apparent suicide. But Dr. Sable knows in his bones it was foul play, and strange things keep happening at the lodge. He'll hire M.J. and Gilley- but only if he can come along. Hey, the duo needs the money- and looking at eye candy all weekend doesn't sound to bad, either... 

But once they reach the lodge, the three realize they're dealing with more ghosts then just Grandpa Sable's. And the spooks keep playing nasty tricks on their human visitors. To the untrained eye, it would appear that ghouls just want to have fun. But M.J. knows they're communicating their distress- and it's up to her to figure out why... 

I picked this book up because I've read Victoria Laurie series, Psychic Eye Mystery which I totally love. I read this book and thought to myself that Victoria Laurie knows what she's doing! She writes great books that keep you interested and on the edge of your seat. I really loved reading 'What's a Ghoul to do?' and I can't wait to get the next book in the Ghost Hunter series Demons are a Ghoul's best friend! 

Plot - ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ I really enjoyed the plot. It had that certain something that kept you wanting to read more and more. 

Writing - ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ The writing was good and I really enjoyed reading Victoria Laurie's work! What I loved that I didn't have to go and look up works, or I didn't go through the book wondering when it was going to be over. 

Characters - ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ I really thought the characters were well thought out and molded. I really enjoyed M.J. ball busting seriousness and her sixth sense for the ultra-weird, Gilley's flirtatious attitude and hacking abilities, and Dr. Steven Sable's dedication to his patients and his non-stop prodding in trying to get M.J. to loosen up and to have a good time. 

Mary Jane 'M.J.' Holliday - M.J. has always been able to communicate with the dead and help them cross over to the other side. Now some cross overs are easy and quick but some can be right now nasty and dangerous if she isn't careful. M.J. and her partner, who is also her long time best friend, Gilley have be hired by Dr. Steven Sable to prove the his Grandfather did not commit suicide. M.J. agrees to do the job, but their is on complication; Dr. Sable wants to come along and that is a big no-no in M.J.'s book. She doesn't want to bring him along afraid that all he would do is get in the way, but he won't have it any other way. M.J. is a ball busting, serious woman when it comes to her work. She doesn't fool around while she's around the dead fearing that they might come across friendly and nice, but can't turn ugly if they don't like what they see that M.J. is doing. 

Dr. Steven Sable - Steven Sable is sure that his Grandfather, Andrew Sable, did not commit suicide. So he hires M.J. even though he is a total septic when it comes to communicating with the dead and other such paranormal nonsense. He wants proof that M.J. can do what she says she can do before hiring her and making her mad in the process. Even though M.J. warns him what he might found out about his Grandfather might not be pretty, Dr. Sable wants to know the truth, even if it might not be what he expects. 

Gilley 'Gil' Gillespie - Gilley is M.J. long time gay best friend who has a thing for 'one night flings' and then his all business. But that isn't the case when Dr. Steven Sable comes with them on their ghost hunt. Gilley finds himself having a crush on Dr. Sable. When M.J. informs him that he will be going into the said 'haunted' house with her and Dr. Sable he is totally against it. He is the van guy and he has no desire to go and face any ghosts. Which is a good thing and a bad thing... 

Overall I give this book ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ - no more and no less!

Thursday, May 5, 2011

Water for Elephants - Review


As a young man. Jacob Jankowski was tossed by fate onto a rickety train that was home to the Benzini Brothers Most Spectacular Show On Earth. It was the early part of the Great Depression, and for Jacob the circus was both his salvation and a living hell. A veterinary student just shy of his degree, he was put in charge of caring for the circus menagerie. It was there that he met Marlena, the beautiful equestrian star married to August, the charismatic but twisted animal trainer. And he met Rosie, an untrainable elephant who was the great gray hope for this third-rate traveling show. The bond that grew among this unlikely trio was ultimately their only hope for survival.

I'm not going to lie I picked this book up reading it before I go and see the movie, I mean who doesn't do that. I know I would regret not reading the book first before seeing the movie and trust me I don't want to go there. Anyway I picked up this book after seeing the trailer for Water for Elephants. I'd seen the book here and there, but never really thought I'd like it, but after seeing the trailer and finding out it was a romance I picked this book the next day! It took awhile to read, but it was very good. I must say I was quite surprised at how much I enjoyed it.  

Plot - ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ The plot was very, very good! I couldn't believe how good it was. I haven't read a book with a plot likes this in awhile. Now I have to admit that the Great Depression has always fascinated me! I love reading about hoboes and how life changed for though who really took it for grated. This book sucks you in and you feel as if your there, your Jacob Jankowski working as the circus vet and seeing what he was seeing, smelling what he was smelling and just living what he's living. I give the plot five stars because it deserves it for beginning a very good book that draws you in and makes you feel as if your there! 

Writing - ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ The writing was very well done! I never found myself feeling as if I would scream if I read another word, or wanted to throw the book across the room because I couldn't understand the way it was written, it was the opposite of that entirely. I give the writing five stars! 

Characters - ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ I really found myself enjoying the characters. They were well thought out and done very well. I found myself feeling as if I was there standing next to Jacob, Marlena, Walter, or even Rosie. They just seemed so real and life like. It's difficult to find that in some books, but this book had it and I couldn't stop reading even if I tried. I give the characters five stars!  

Jacob Jankowski - Jacob is your average college student studying to be a vet and join in his fathers practice when he receives shocking news: both his parents have been killed. He soon draws away from the real world and just sit in his own little corner and tries to figure things out. Well after running out on his final exams Jacob walks and walks until he comes upon a train that he jumps and finds that it belongs to the Benzini Brothers Most Spectacular Show On Earth and soon finds himself as the vet for the circus menagerie, where he mets the beautiful star of the show, Marlena.  

August Rosenbluth - August is the animal trainer on the Benzini Brothers Most Spectacular Show On Earth and married to Marlena, who is the star. He comes off charming and handsome at first, but soon you see a different side to him as the story goes on. You might be thinking his charming and dashing at first, but you won't be thinking that after awhile.  

Marlena Rosenbluth - Marlena is the star of the Benzini Brothers Most Spectacular Show On Earth and is the wife of August Rosenbluth. She loves her horses and her job. After Jacob arrives things change for the worse for a lot of people, but she can't stop from falling in love with him. 

Rosie - Rosie is the elephant that no one can train and no one will try to train her. Thinking her as stupid as a bag of hammers they just assume that she knows nothing and that she is untrainable.
  
Walter "Kinko" - Walter is a circus clown and Jacob's bunkmate. Walter is a dwarf and hate all that think him small and unable to do anything. He has a dog named Queenie and he loves her to bits. He might come off harsh and unapproachable, but he warms up to Jacob later in the story.  

Camel - Camel is a sweet old drunk who helps Jacob get a job on Benzini Brothers Most Spectacular Show On Earth. He shows him the ropes and help him out of trouble when he first arrives. 

Overall I give this book ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ - nothing more and nothing less!

Friday, April 22, 2011

No Rest For The Wicked - Review



A vampire soldier weary of life... 
Centuries ago, Sebastian Wroth was turned into a vampire- a nightmare in his mind- against his will. Burdened with hatred and alone for ages, he sees little reason to live. Until an exquisite, fey creature comes to kill him, inadvertently saving him instead.



A Valkyrie assassin dispatched to destroy him...
When Kaderin the Cold Hearted lost her two beloved sisters to a vampire attack long ago, a benevolent force deadened her sorrow- accidentally extinguishing all of her emotions. Yet whenever she encounters Sebastian, her feelings- particularly lust- emerge multiplied. For the first time, she's unable to complete a 
kill.



Competitors in a legendary hunt... 
The course will take them through ancient tombs and catacombs, seeking relics around the world, and the prize for victory is powerful enough for Kaderin to change history and prevent her sisters' death. Sebastian competes as well, and begins winning- her. But when forced to choose between Sebastian and reuniting her family, how can Kaderin live without either?

No Rest For The Wicked is the 3rd book in the Immortals After Dark series, and I just say one thing...this book doesn't disappoint. As I read this book I found myself losing myself through the pages and wanting to know more and more about Kresley Cole's supernatural world of darkness, life, family and the true meaning of love- and that nothing can change it when it happens to you, or anyone else.

Plot - ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ I really enjoyed the plot, it didn't give to much away oh what was going to happen later in the book. At some points I was finding myself not beginning able to guess what was about to happen, or what had yet come to pass... I give the plot five stars!
Writing - ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ The writing in No Rest For The Wicked didn't really change any from A Hunger Like No Other, which I was glad to see. I enjoyed the writing in A Hunger Like No Other as such I enjoyed the writing in this book as well. I give the writing five stars!
Characters - ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ I really enjoyed the characters in No Rest For The Wicked. I enjoyed getting to know them and knowing what they liked, dislikes, or learning their each and every desires. I give the characters five stars!

Kaderin the Cold Hearted - I really enjoyed Kaderin's character. She was interesting and the way her emotions came flooding back with a simple look, or touch from Sebastian was just so romantic!

Sebastian Wroth - I don't know what it was about Sebastian but I found myself just feeling so lost when he was focus of the story at points. Learning about his turning, his family and such was just so amazing and sad all at the same time. He was strong, dark and mysterious- and so innocent to...!

Bowen - Bowen is back and strong as ever...! He is as well in the hunt for the powerful item in hope of getting his mate back. He will do anything to get his mate back, even if it means making some enemies in the process.

Riora - A sassy goddess who, when she doesn't get everything she wants, becomes pouty and angry and will stop at nothing to get her way!

Scribe - Scribe is Riora assistant and has a strange thing for...Kaderin- I think but I don't know. It was a little confusing to me.

Dasha - Kaderin's sister who was killed by a vampire many, many year ago!

Rika - Kaderin's youngest sister who was, along with her sister Dasha, killed by a vampire!

Overall I give this book ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ - nothing more and nothing less!

Monday, April 11, 2011

A Hunger Like No Other - Review



A mythic warrior who'll stop at nothing to possess her...
After enduring years of torture from the vampire horde, Lachlain MacRieve, leader of the Lykae Clan, is enraged to fine the predestined mate he's waited millennia for is a vampire. Or partly one. This Emmaline is a small, ethereal half Valkyrie/half vampire, who somehow begins to sooth the fury burning within him.

A vampire captured by her wildest fantasy...
Sheltered Emmaline Troy finally sets out to uncover the truth about her deceased parents- until a powerful Lykae claims her as his mate and forces her back to his ancestral Scottish castle. There, her fear of the Lykae- and their notorious dark desires- ebbs as he begins a slow, wicked seduction to sate her own dark cravings.

An all-consuing desire...
Yet when an ancient evil from her past resurfaces, will their desire deepen into a love that can bring a proud warrior to his knees and turn a gentle beauty into the fighter she was born to be?

I can sum up this book in one word: amazing. I loved this book! I read it all in one day! If you haven't heard of this series, or are debating if you should read it or not; stop your debating and pick this book up! I couldn't believe how much I was into this book, it was that good. I loved everything about it from the plot, to the writing, to the characters. All righty now on with the review!

Plot - As you can see from how many stars I rated the plot, I totally loved it...! I found myself wanting to read more and more, sometimes I was able to force myself to stop reading, but not five minutes later I was picking it back up and losing myself in it's pages. I give the plot five stars!
Writing - The writing was amazingly done- well to me anyway, and I couldn't stop myself from smiling as the book progressed. I found myself wanting more and more to happen so that the book would never end- and that's saying something...! I give the writing five stars!
Characters - The characters were a very interesting bunch. I enjoyed very much learning about them and their dreams and fears. I didn't find myself disliking them- okay there were a few that got on my nerves, but only a few. I really found myself liking the two main characters, Emmaline and Lachlain and Lachlain oldest friend, Bowe. I give the characters five stars!

Emmaline 'Emma' Troy - Emma is very soft spoken person, never having like conflict, or causing anyone she cared for pain. When she is in Paris researching her heritage Lachlain finds her and claims that she is his mate... I found myself really liking her. Reason for me liking her is that as the book progresses she finds herself and finds that she isn't some weakling that doesn't belong on either sides her Valkyrie or vampire side.

Lachlain MacRieve - Is the King of the Lykae. For the past hundred and fifty years he has been the prisoner of the vampire horde and tortured all though that time. Though his clan has thought him dead for the past hundred and fifty years or more, he has not lost his sanity and looks for revenge against the King of the vampire horde, Demestriu, of the pain he has inflicted on him.

Bowe - Bowe is part of the Lykae clan and will do anything for Lachlain. With all the pain he has gone through he will do anything to make Lachlain happy and to see that Emmaline will know exactly what Lachlain has gone through in his search for her.

Demestriu - The King of the vampire horde, knows as the oldest and most powerful vampire in the world.

Ivo - A vampire who wants to dethrone Demstriu and become king.

Overall I give this book - no more and no less!

Saturday, April 2, 2011

Stranded With Her Ex - Review



Trouble in paradise?

An exotic wildlife preserve is a dream come true for conservation biologist Daniela Flores. Until she finds out her ex-husband is leading the research team. World-famous shark expert Sean Carmichael has only grown more ruggedly appealing in the time they were apart...the passion between them more intense than ever. But how could Daniela forgive Sean for betraying her when she needed him most?

Sean had come to the remote Farallon Islands to study killer sharks. Now a real killer is on the loose, threatening the woman he's never stopped loving. And this time, he knows he can't walk away. Marooned together during a deadly storm, Sean vows to go to hell and back to save Daniela...and for the chance to begin again.


Just got done with this book and decided to write a review! Now your probably wondering why did I give this book three stars instead of four, or five stars. Well I'll get to that in my review so just hold tight and you'll soon see why I rated it what I did. Now on with the review!

Plot - ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ I really enjoyed the plot. It was both familiar and refreshing all at the same time. I haven't read a book quite like this one so that's always a plus! I give the plot four stars!
Writing - ☆ ☆ ☆ I really thought the writing was really good and well orgainzed. It wasn't all thrown together so much that you couldn't understand what the characters were saying, or talking about. I give the writing three stars!
Characters - ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ I really enjoyed the characters. They were all original and I didn't find myself hating any of them! I give the characters four stars!

Daniela Flores - I liked her, even though she was a little annoying when she was trying to deny her feels and her wants and her needs... Daniela Flores is your average woman who loves her work and wants to move on with her life, after a tragic accident shattered her both mentally and emotionally.

Sean Carmichael - I really liked him, I don't know why I just did. Sean Carmichael is well known around the world as a shark expert and he loves his job, but now after seeing Daniela and having her on his team might be to much for him to handle.

Jason Ruiz - I liked him he was kind and a ladies man, but had a wandering eye. Jason Ruiz is a shark researcher just as Sean is, who is his idol.

Taryn - I both liked her and...disliked her. Taryn is a dolphin researcher and she has a thing for Sean, you can clearly tell from the first few pages in.

Brent Masterson - I liked him and he sort of rubbed me the wrong way. Brent Masterson is in charge of filming anything and everything. From shark attacks and close encounters.

Elizabeth Winters - Okay I didn't like her so much as the others, but she was a cool character. Elizabeth Winters is the only ornithologist on the team and has quite a chip on her shoulder.

Overall I give this book ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆- nothing more and nothing less!

Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Paradise County - Review



I wish I could put it into words how much I loved this book! I read it in a day and-a-half, it was that good. I could't put it down, even though I was trying to force myself to- ah I just couldn't!

The rolling fields of Shelby County are home to some of the finest horseflesh and bluest blood in Kentucky. With it's rural beauty and tranquil lifestyle, it is easy to see why the locals call it Paradise County. But beneath the serene exterior lies a dark underside, and an evil that threatens everyone who touches it.

Alexandra Haywood and her younger sister, Neely, have always loved Whistledown, the family's magnificent Shelby County horse farm. After their billionaire father's sudden and tragic death, the devastated Alex returns to Whistledown to try to make peace with her memories- and to oversee the sell of their gorgeous home. For the family fortune is now a shambles and, like everything else the Haywoods own, Whistledown has to go. But Joe Welch, the sexy, handsome farm manage, refuses to cooperate. When Alex fires him, he tells her he has an unbreakable contract that can't be let go.

For years Joe has worked to make Whistledown's stables flourish while he struggled to keep his own dreams alive, and no rich rhymes-with-witch is going to threaten his livelihood- or his family life. Ever since his wife betrayed him years ago, Joe has raised his three kids alone and did it damn well. Now, his always dependable sixteen-year-old son Eli has become hopelessly infatuated with teenage while child Neely. Joe refuses to let his boy get caught up with Neely- a nose stud and penchant for illegal substances among her less desirable traits- and he tells Alex in no uncertain terms.

Sparks of rage give way to a fiery attraction when Joe and Alex meet head-on. But just as a volatile passion begins flaring up between the, the discovery of a shocking murder with ties to the past rocks the county- and cuts frighteningly close to home when Neely and Eli disappear.

Alex and Joe have only each other to rely on as they search frantically for their loved ones. What they don't know is that they are racing against time, too. Because the evil that lurks beneath the bucolic surface of Paradise County has once again raised its gruesome head- and now Alex is targeted as the next victim.

Plot - ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ As you can see by how many stars I gave it, I loved that plot! I loved the plot big time! The plot, it was something I had never read before and that was refreshing to me. It was nice to read something that was original, well to me anyway. I give the plot five stars!
Writing - ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ The writing was good, but it was missing that certain something, that usually is missing in a lot of books. I can't really put my finger on it, but something was missing... I give the writing four stars!
Characters - ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ Okay I can only say I loved all the characters  BIGtime! The characters were real to me and I loved them for that! It's always a plus in a book when you feel as if you know the characters and you feel as if your in the story with them...! I give the characters five stars!

Alexandra 'Alex' Haywood - I loved Alexandra for her pride and her stubbornness! When she didn't want to do something, or she set her mind to something, no one could change her mind.

Joe Welch - The farm manager of Whistledown. Handsome, sexy and strong...enough said. I loved him for his hardheadedness and loving nature towards his family!

Eli Welch - Joe's oldest and near look-at-like. Hot (well to Neely anyway) athletic and strong. I loved him for just cute and adorable!

Cornelia 'Neely' Haywood - I liked her cocky attitude and always thinking she knew best, and that she was never wrong about anything. Even though she did get on my nerves a little I still couldn't help liking her!

Joshua 'Josh' Welch - Joe's second oldest and the attitude of the Welch family. Joe is worried that Josh will end up getting into trouble when he is older, and to be honest...I don't blame him.

Jenny Welch - Joe's youngest and only little girl. She's sweet and kind and one smart ass kid!

Cary Welch - Father of Joe and ex-horsetrainer. A Drunk and a very loving grandpa!

Overall I give this book ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ - nothing more and nothing less!

Friday, March 25, 2011

Afterlight - Review


There is a reason we fear the night...

As Savannah's most unconventional tattoo artist, Riley Poe is quite familiar with the local underground scene. She lives and works on the edge of it every day. Now She's about to step over the edge.

When her younger brother is taken by a sinister cult led by centuries old vampires, Riley discovers a world of shadows and blood- and those who exist there.

Her ally is the hot-tempered vampire Eli Dupre, who is attracted to Riley's beauty as well as her one-of-a-kind blood type- a blood type is is not alone in craving.

To save her brother from certain undeath, Riley will face dangers she's never dreamed of, ruthless bloodthirsty enemies, and an evil of endless hunger that wants to devour all in its vile grasp.

Just finished this book and thought I would write a review! This book was good, don't get me wrong it really was, but there were times where I was like "Really?" and I would just roll my eyes... This has a lot of sex and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone below the age of 18 because when I say there is a lot of sex, I really mean there is a lot of sex...!

Plot - ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ The plot was good and I really liked how it was something that has been done before, but it had a twist to it. Why didn't I give it five stars you may ask...? Well to me it was missing something that it dearly, dearly needed.
Writing - ☆ ☆ ☆ I would have given the writing two stars, but I thought that was a little mean so I gave it three instead. The writing was good...at times. But other times I was just like "Really? Your kidding me right?" and I would roll my eyes and just shake my head.
Characters - ☆ ☆ ☆ I enjoyed the characters, I thought that they were well thought, well at least some of them were...

Riley Poe - Riley is a tattoo artist from Savannah, Georgia and she has a very special blood type that will drive all vampires crazy and most likely get her killed if she's not to careful of what she does, or says. To make sure none of that happens she drinks a special Gullah brew that masks the scent of her blood from vampires. What can be said about Riley Poe... Well for one she was a cool character, she was hard head, stubborn and totally not into taking orders from anyone. But a lot of the time I thought she came across flat. I don't know why, just that she did.

Seth Poe - Seth Poe is Riley's younger brother and he and the rest of his friend stumble across a crypt where Victorian and Valerian lay locked away... After beginning taken, they are slowly turning into the undead and Seth forgets who he is, and worst yet who Riley is...

Eli Dupre - Eli Dupre is the eldest of four siblings and the strongest. He is sent to watch over and protect Riley after her bother is taken by Victorian and his brother Valerian. As you can expect feelings grow between Eli and Riley, I mean if you weren't expecting that then your totally clueless... I liked Eli, he was strong and had a wicked temper and really hated it when Riley didn't listen to him and do what he said.

Preacher Man - His is Riley's surrogate grandfather, who she owns her whole life to. He helped her get clean and in the right direction, when she was all into drugs and other baddies like that...

Estelle - Estelle is the Preacher Man's wife and a Gullah herbiest of sorts. She is the one that makes Riley special tea to mask her blood.

Gilles Dupre - You don't really see him that much in the book. You see his kids more often, then him and his wife, Elise. I liked him though. He gave warning to Riley of the consequences of her and Eli's growing relationship. Telling her that nothing good would come of it. She would die, as all humans do, and Eli would go on living.

Elise Dupre - Just like her husband she wasn't in the book that much. You really don't learn that much about her.

Phin Dupre - Phin is young, in vampire standers, and has a wicked sense of humor. He does his best to help his bother, Eli, and protect Riley even though she doesn't take orders that well.

Luc Dupre - Just like his brothers his young, again in vampire standers, and he along with his siblings tries and keeps Riley in line so she doesn't end up getting herself killed.

Josie Dupre - Josie is the youngest of the Dupre siblings and she has a quirky attitude and loves tattoos and she gives Riley some of her own designs. She might be young and small, but she can kick ass with the best of them.

Victorian - Is an centuries old vampire who has his eye on Riley...

Valerian - The oldest of the vampire brothers, not much is known about him.

Overall I give this book ☆ ☆ ☆ - nothing more and nothing less.

Thursday, March 24, 2011

River Marked - Review



Coyote shifter Mercy Thompson knows that with her mate, the Alpha werewolf Adam, will never be boring, but even their wedding doesn't go as planned. Nevertheless, a ten-day honeymoon camping on the banks of the Columbia River, alone, just the two of them, should make up for it. But the trip- and the pimped-out trailer they're using- is courtesy of the fae. And nothing from the fae comes without strings attached...

Being a different breed of shapeshifter- a walker- Mercy can see ghosts, but the spirit of her long gone father has never visited her. Until now. An evil is stirring in the depths of the Columbia River- and innocent people are dying. As other walkers make their presence know to Mercy, she must reconnect with her heritage to exorcise the world of the legend known as the river devil.


Just finished River Marked and thought I would write a review! But before I do any of that I'd just like to say I really enjoyed this book, but not as as much as the others... I was sad you really don't see Darryl, Jesse, Ben, Stephan, or whoever else in the book all that much!

Plot - ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ I really loved the plot it was really original and interesting to read! Now there was some stuff I wasn't so thrilled about, but every good book has it's pros and cons. I give the plot four stars!
Writing - ☆ ☆ ☆ The writing wasn't really all that different from the other books, so there really isn't anything to report. I give it, as usual, three stars!
Characters - ☆ ☆ ☆ I really enjoyed the characters, but I was totally bummed that you don't get to see Darryl, Jesse, Ben, Stephan, Warren and/or Kyle all that much in this book... I give the characters three stars!

Mercy Thompson Hauptman - Mercy Thompson is your average woman, only she's a walker and she can shift into a coyote. She known to getting herself into serious trouble, but she say that trouble follows her around.  (view spoiler)
Adam Hauptman - Adam is the Alpha of the Columbia Basin Pack. Adam is as hard head as Mercy and they make a perfect couple!  (view spoiler)
Coyote "Joe Old Coyote" - Coyote is, well The Coyote.  (view spoiler)
Gordon Seeker - Is grandfather to Calvin, and a shifter as well,  (view spoiler)
Benny - Mercy and Adam found Benny in a boat,  (view spoiler)
Jim Alvin - Is of the Yakama Nation and a medicine man. He is the alpha, but isn't a werewolf. Jim is the leader and well respect man...

Calvin - An apprentice of sorts to Jim Alvin.

Fred - Is a shifter,  (view spoiler)
Hank - Brother to Fred and a shifter as well,  (view spoiler)
Overall I give River Marked ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ - nothing more and nothing less!